Be Aware of Your Self

Life isn’t always easy, especially in our present times. However, it is almost a requirement to keep your awareness in your center, most of the time. Your center is your divine self, that goes by many names and many descriptions. This center is the real you that always was, is and will be. The world comes and goes, so does your physical body, your emotions and thoughts, and your problems. These are your tools and means for a conscious expression in this physical world. Everything changes, from day to day, but it is your divine center, your inner awareness of self, that stays the same, experiencing the change but not subjected to it. We are here in the physical world to have the ever changing multiple experiences. These can be enjoyed when pleasant. When unpleasant, one should not fear them, nor lament them, but face them, and walk through them keeping in mind that from the side of your divine spirit, there is a reason for this although you might not see it at this moment.

I see people so hooked (shall I say enslaved?) to their smartphone, that their awareness is slipping away into a tiny virtual world, not noticing their flow humans around them, nor the incoming cars when crossing the road. This is a dangerous development because awareness of one’s Self, one’s inner center, is the key requirement for being a human on this planet. If you slip away into unawareness, life is going to take you for a rough ride. It is better to be aware of yourself as much as possible so you can take the ride you really want, or take it as smooth as possible. It is all about your attitude about life, and for that you need to be aware.

The following is a story from Peace Pilgrim. You can look her up on Wikipedia. In her chapter called The Change Called Death, it was her awareness of her true self that kept her from sliding off in a fearful state of mind when she almost died in a snowstorm. Instead she saw it as a positive experience and that made all the difference:

Life is a series of tests, but if you pass your tests you’ll look back upon them as good experiences. I look back on all of my tests as good experiences, including the night I faced death in a blinding snowstorm. It was the first year of my pilgrimage and the most beautiful experience I ever had.

I was walking in a very isolated section of the high mountains of Arizona where there was no human habitation for many miles. That afternoon there came a surprising snowstorm, out of season. I have never seen such a storm. If the snow had been rain you would have called it a cloudburst. Never had I seen snow dumped down like that!

All of a sudden I was walking in deep snow and was unable to see through what was falling. Suddenly I realized that the cars had stopped running. I supposed they were getting stuck on the highway and unable to pass. Then it got dark. There must have been a heavy cloud cover. I could not see my hand before my face, and the snow was blowing into my face and closing my eyes. It was getting cold. It was the kind of cold that penetrates into the marrow of the bone.

If ever I were to lose faith and feel fear, this would have been the time, because I knew there was no human help at hand. Instead, the whole experience of the cold and the snow and the darkness seemed

unreal. Only God seemed real…nothing else. I made a complete identification—not with my body, the clay garment which is destructible—but with the reality which activates the body and is indestructible.

I felt so free; I felt that everything would be all right, whether I remained to serve in this earth life or if I went on to serve in another freer life beyond. I felt guided to keep on walking, and I did, even though I couldn’t tell whether I was walking along the highway or out into some field. I couldn’t see anything. My feet in my low canvas shoes were like lumps of ice. They felt so heavy as I plodded along. My body began to turn numb with cold.

After there was more numbness than pain, there came what some would call an hallucination—and what some would call a vision. It was as though I became aware, not only of the embodied side of life where everything was black darkness, bitter cold and swirling snow—but also so close it seemed I could step right into it, of the unembodied side of life where everything was warmth and light. There was such great beauty. It began with familiar color, but transcended familiar color. It began with familiar music, but transcended familiar music.

Then I saw beings. They were very far away. One of them moved toward me very quickly. When she came close enough, I recognized her. She looked much younger than she had looked when she passed over.

I believe that at the time of the beginning of the change called death, those nearest and dearest come to welcome us. I have been with dying friends who have stepped over and I remember well how

they talked to their loved ones on both sides …as though they were all right there in the room together.

So I thought my time had come to step over, and I greeted her. I either said or thought, “You have come for me?” But she shook her head! She motioned for me to go back! And just at that exact moment I ran into the railing of a bridge. The vision was gone. Because I felt guided to do so, I groped my way down that snowy embankment and got under the bridge. There I found a large cardboard packing box with wrapping paper in it. Very slowly and clumsily in my numb condition, I managed to get myself into that packing box, and somehow with my numbed fingers managed to pull the wrapping paper around me. There under the bridge, during the snowstorm, I slept. Even there shelter had been provided—but provided also was this experience.

Had you looked at me in the midst of the snowstorm, you might have said, “What a terrible experience that poor woman is going through.” But looking back on it I can only say: What a wonderful experience in which I faced death, feeling not fear, but the constant awareness of the presence of God, which is what you take right over with you.

I believe I had the great privilege of experiencing the beginning of the change called death. So now I can rejoice with my loved ones as they make the glorious transition to a freer living. I can look forward I was to the change called death as life’s last great adventure.

Painting by Kesara

Painting by Kesara

About Cosmick Traveler

I am a life long spiritual seeker, exploring the mysteries of man, life, and the universe. I had many mystical experiences during my life. There is nothing spectacular about them. These experiences are often unexpected, and lie outside what we have been told is possible. They served to learn about the Greater Reality, that part of reality that is not talked about in school, government or corporation. Nevertheless it is very real, and a part of being human on this planet. I have studied many different doctrines and teachings, both esoteric and scientific. I have learned to see the common essence in all these disciplines, and the many connections between them. I have found that many people have spiritual, mystical or just unusual experiences they never talk about because of the many taboos this society has about certain subjects. However when they encounter someone they see they can trust they open up. It is time now for people to talk openly, and not to fear ridicule. I see it as my task to write about all these subjects and experiences that can enrich a person's life. Exchanging ideas, opinions, beliefs and experiences will bring us together and we will realize that we are not different from each other. It does not matter where you live on the earth, or what your cultural background is. If we pay attention to our humanness, then we can create a better world for all of us.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Consciousness, Life Lessons, The Divine or God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

