Hearing Non-Physical Sounds and Music

I once read a book (Phantom Voices, Ethereal Music & Other Spooky Sounds by Neil G. Bauman) about hallucinogenic sounds. These are sounds people hear inside their heads, and no, it does not mean there is something wrong with you. It seems that the brain craves stimulation, and sometimes it will create sounds itself during periods of silence. The book reported many examples of real people who reported these sounds. These were all normal people, and the phenomenon was found to be quite common. The sounds varied a lot, from short knocks, door bell ringing to humming, hearing one’s name, hearing sentences, and in a few occasions music.

Western science only look at the physical side of things, and in regard with these sounds, will only look at the physical brain as the origin of these sounds. Although the brain can produce short bursts of sounds, when one hears names and sentences, then these must come from memory, and memory is not stored in the brain but in the energetic or aetheric body. People familiar with esoteric doctrines and Eastern philosophies know that sound also exists on the aetheric level. When consciousness is partly or completely detached from the body, one can hear sounds that are produced or exists on the aetheric level of existence. Throughout my life I have had several occasions when I have heard sounds, and especially music, when I was in a state between sleeping and waking, very clear and very detailed. It certainly did not come from the brain, and I surmise that I heard it from the aethers. Why this happened I have no idea. I do find it very interesting, and it shows that human mind, and the brain as its physical processor, have tremendous latent abilities.

On several occasions I have heard loud explosive ‘bangs’ inside and around my body, on going asleep, waking up, or even being woken up by it. These happen when the body is at rest. It occurs when the energetic, or aetheric body is overcharged with energy at certain locations, and it releases the surplus energy in an explosive charge. It has happened to me at any location inside and around the physical body, so I think it not limited to certain areas such as the chakras. Once I met a couple of psychic people. The husband had this phenomenon too, quite frequent actually, and his wife could physically hear these explosive sounds. They had no idea what it was about, and neither did I at that time.

Several times, I have heard music between sleeping and waking, thinking I had woken up. The music is always very clear. I could hear all the words in the song, all the tones in the music. The entire song. When I had a clock-radio I thought, when hearing the music, that my radio went on and I was hearing a radio station. After the song I would really wake up and be astonished that my radio was not on, nor could it turn itself on at all. The songs were similar to contemporary songs of that time (this happened mostly in the seventies and eighties), but I had never heard these songs before, or after. So I don’t know if they really existed in our world. I have heard classical music too, in every detail. I really like it when it happens.
Most of the music experiences I have never written down. Those that I did write down are in my diary:

December 17, 1992
I am waking up slowly in the morning. I am hearing three short rapid beats on my little drum that is hanging above my bed on the wall.

September 26, 1997
I woke up, but was drifting asleep again when I heard, very clearly, classical music in the back of my head. This lasted for a number of minutes.

December 26, 2002
I am waking up in the morning, being half asleep, half awake. There is short sound in my left ear. I ‘tune’ into it and hold it stable. Now, I am hearing classical music. I keep drifting out of the music, but by the ‘tuning’ I can go back several times and hear the music again. The last piece of music I heard was on a piano.

January 25, 2003
I took an afternoon nap. For a short while I was hearing classical music, and after that a kind of repetitive mechanical sound. Still being in a half awake state I was feeling a couple of times as if someone was pushing against the soles of my feet. I felt my body arching up and down.
(This last sensation is indicative of an out-of-the-body-experience, which I used to have in the past)

The following is a bit more comprehensive than just hearing a sound, and very interesting because it was tied in with agnihotra rituals. At that my wife had been doing Agnihotra, a fire ceremony in which one burns cow dung at sunrise and sunset accompanied with a mantra. It is a very powerful ceremony to harmonize one’s environment.
08.28.2011
I wake up in bed, some time during the night. I am hearing a strange repeating sound as from a gong, but every pulse/beat only sounds for one to two seconds. The beat frequency is irregular, and sometimes the beats overlap each other. It is coming from the living room. Still being in bed, I open my eyes, and I see a strong light shining through the curtain that separates the living room from the little hallway (which is in between). It is not a constant light, as its strength varies up and down. The color of the light is yellow-orange-red, or a combination of these three. I am wondering what this could be (it was still pitch dark outside and inside the house). Could it be that it was a light from outside that is shining through the windows, but the light is way too strong for this. Outside the window we have a large meadow, and the neighbor’s house is even farther away. There is no lightning storm, it is a very calm night. It looks that this light is coming from a fire, considering its color and flickering. However the light is so strong and bright. I get out of bed, and go into the living room, but there is no light anymore. Everything is dark. Nothing outside either.
Later on, in the morning I realized that the estimated location of the light in the living room corresponded with where we were holding the Agnihotra ceremony. The fire from the cow dung however is a very little fire, with small flames. What I saw, although the light was behind the curtain, was at least a man’s height. I concluded that what I had seen was the fire spirit that was residing in the living room.
Here is the really strange thing. I went back to my bed in the same position when I saw the fire shining through the curtain, and noticed that I couldn’t see the curtain at all, because of a bedroom wall blocking my view. I cannot explain how I saw the curtain, other than I must have seen this with a latent psychic ability which made the wall invisible.
The gong-like sound must also have to do with the fire spirit, as this sound initiated the entire experience.

April 21, 2012
I wake up in the middle of the night, and I am hearing a shoooooosh sound in another room, that went up and down in pitch. It only lasted a couple of seconds. No idea what that was.

music

About Cosmick Traveler

I am a life long spiritual seeker, exploring the mysteries of man, life, and the universe. I had many mystical experiences during my life. There is nothing spectacular about them. These experiences are often unexpected, and lie outside what we have been told is possible. They served to learn about the Greater Reality, that part of reality that is not talked about in school, government or corporation. Nevertheless it is very real, and a part of being human on this planet. I have studied many different doctrines and teachings, both esoteric and scientific. I have learned to see the common essence in all these disciplines, and the many connections between them. I have found that many people have spiritual, mystical or just unusual experiences they never talk about because of the many taboos this society has about certain subjects. However when they encounter someone they see they can trust they open up. It is time now for people to talk openly, and not to fear ridicule. I see it as my task to write about all these subjects and experiences that can enrich a person's life. Exchanging ideas, opinions, beliefs and experiences will bring us together and we will realize that we are not different from each other. It does not matter where you live on the earth, or what your cultural background is. If we pay attention to our humanness, then we can create a better world for all of us.
This entry was posted in astral, Dimensions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

